Monthly Archives: May 2014

Join the LCC Space for Cycling Big Ride this week-end, feeder ride starting from Barking

For more info goto http://lcc.org.uk/pages/big-ride-2014
Space for Cycling
Our event starts in Park Lane, with crowds gathering from 11am for a midday start, and from 1pm there’ll be a rally on the Embankment with guest speakers (to be confirmed), with the event ending at 2pm.

Havering are not doing a feeder ride into London for the Big Ride this Saturday, but if you’d like to ride in with other cyclists you can join the group leaving from outside Barking station at 09:00 for more info see www.meetup.com/Hubbub/events/165787572

Please join the London Cycling Campaign on Saturday 17 May 2014 for the ‘Space for Cycling’ Big Ride, which is a fun ride with a serious message, telling politicians we want streets that are safe and inviting for everyone to cycle.

Enjoy riding through famous London locations such as Hyde Park Corner, Parliament Square, Piccadilly Circus and Trafalgar Square in a motor-traffic-free environment that’s suitable for the whole family (see the route below).

En route, the Big Ride will also meet with the London Tweed Run, which this year takes place on the same day, and has LCC as its charity partner.

Skyride is back for the summer

SkyRide have now published their summer schedule.

Rides take place in London from April
to September. For details of all the rides,
and to sign up, visit goskyride.com

The local rides for this year are:

Easygoing

Sunday 8 June Follow the Leader Havering 2pm
Sunday 29 June Fairlop Waters Family Ride Redbridge 2pm
Sunday 6 July Romford ride through Raphael and Lodge Farm Parks Havering 10am
Sunday 6 July Dagenhams Green Spaces Barking and Dagenham 10am
Sunday 27 July Hainault Forest Family Ride Redbridge 10am
Sunday 3 August Barking Park Figure of 8 Barking and Dagenham 10am
Sunday 17 August Romford ride through Raphael and Lodge Farm Parks Havering 2pm
Sunday 24 August Fairlop Waters Family Ride Redbridge 2pm
Sunday 5 October Barking Park Figure of 8 Barking and Dagenham 2pm

Steady

Sunday 25 May Havering Country Park and Beyond Havering 2pm
Sunday 15 June Roding Valley Off-Road Tour Redbridge 10am
Sunday 13 July South Redbridge Parks Tour Redbridge 2pm
Sunday 20 July Historic Byeways and Greenways Havering 10am
Sunday 20 July Chadwell Heath and Dagenham Heathway Barking and Dagenham 2pm
Sunday 3 August Roding Valley Off-Road Tour Redbridge 2pm
Sunday 3 August The Essex Way Havering 10am
Sunday 10 August Goodmayes Tour of the Duck Ponds Redbridge 10am
Sunday 24 August Tour of the Parks Barking and Dagenham 10am
Sunday 31 August Havering’s Park to Park Havering 10am
Sunday 21 September Eastbury and Parks Tour Barking and Dagenham 10am

Challenging

Sunday 22 June South Havering Circular Havering 10am
Saturday 5 July Redbridge Cycling Centre to Blackmore Burner Redbridge 10am
Sunday 7 September Exploring Barking and Dagenham Barking and Dagenham 10am
Sunday 19 October East London Marathon Ride Barking and Dagenham 10am

For a full list of London Skyrides see the following PDFs

London_SRL_A1_Poster_Cal_(Apr-Jul)

London_SRL_A1_Poster_Cal_(Aug-Oct)

Free Advanced Bike Maintenance Course this Saturday, May 10

The first free advanced maintenance course is this Saturday! The 10th May 2014 from 10.00 am till 4.00 pm (with a one hour lunch break)

Free courses are being hosted in Harold Hill, Myplace for people looking to improve their knowledge of bike maintenance.

This 5 hour course covers the likely needs for a cycle touring holiday or to maintain your own bike, it includes advanced removal and installation of bicycle components. To get the best from this course you should be able to perform basic maintenance to a bicycle. You are required to bring your own bike to this class.

Call 01708 376004 to book, a £5 (refundable) deposit is required. Limited places available.